Shoes: Where do you get them?

I like to run in shoes. Barefoot occasionally on a grass field, but 99.8% of the time in shoes. I’m pretty particular about the shoes I wear, and have gone through many a model in my short life to find some that don’t disappoint me.

Before I continue, I just want to say that footwear is not only optional, but very individual. Shoes that work for me may not work for others. Fit, pronation control, weight and other factors are all very specific to each runner. That being said, I’d like to talk about what I’ve been wearing recently, and where I like to get them.

Trainers:

Trainers, the term I like to use for shoes I wear on normal easy runs, long runs, warming up and cooling down. Shoes that get the most miles on them. Over the years, I’ve learned that I enjoy running in shoes that are generally light. On the flip side, they need to last long. I don’t log mega miles, but the thing has to have some backbone. Without further ado, here is what I’ve been stocking up on.

New Balance: Vazee Pace- Very much enjoy the weight of this shoe. To me, it feels firm and responsive. I enjoy swapping it out with the next model every other day to keep things interesting.

Nike: Zoom Structure- More stability, more longevity. These things last me forever, and the fit is incredible. I find them very comfortable, responsive, and long lasting.

Saucony: Kinvara (ALL)- BONUS SHOE. I have not bought these in a while, but I love everything about them. Everything, except their life span. For a decent chunk of miles, these are the greatest shoes I’ve ever run in. Then, much like a light switch, I find them turned off. While it might be a personal event, I find that when these shoes lose their life, they become very squishy, soft, and uncomfortable for me to run in. That being said, I think everyone should try em at least once.

I think I’ll leave speed training, and race day shoes for another post.

Moving on to the meat of this topic, where do you guys get shoes? I normally have a few places, but my biggest ones will be listed below.

1)Runningwarehouse.com: HANDS DOWN the best people I’ve ever dealt with. Period. From their prices, to their sales, and return policies. I would recommend them to strangers on the street. They always have new products coming in, and great deals to boot. Go there.

2) Manufacturer websites: Nike.com, Newbalance.com, and others often offer some cool products that other sites may not have.

3) Specialty Run Stores: I won’t lie, it’s been a good while since I’ve been to one. Despite the (often) great customer service, cool layouts, awesome post shift functions, and human interaction, I still find myself drawn to the online sites.

Why is that?

It comes down to funds for me. I don’t make a ton of money, so it’s near top priority for me to get shoes at a price that I can afford. I burn through em pretty quick as it is. That being said, Specialty Run Stores are great. The staff can be a great tool if you’re just getting in to the sport, and they can help you make an informed decision on a product that will best suit your needs.

So there you have it, a slight rant on where I get my running shoes. Where do you guys get yours? What kind of things are essential to you when picking shoes out?

Let us know in the comments below, and thanks for tuning in!

 

-D

 

 

Leave a Reply

