Running in the Heat

While this is a subject that has been overdone, I feel like I missed my initial chance, and would like to jump on the bandwagon. This post is going to talk about some of my experiences running in hot and humid weather, and the kinds of steps I take surrounding those endeavors.

**Just as a disclaimer, I am not doctor, nutritionist, therapist or the like. Please take my opinions for what they are. Opinions. That being said, let me talk about what I try to do pre run to mitigate the negative side effects.

I should start by prefacing that these precautions are usually only taken when it’s going to be over 85 outside, and humid. Not my favorite kind of weather to run in, but this is what Upstate New York gives us.

1)Hydrate Pre Run: Probably my biggest go to. While I make sure not to overdo it, I try to have a good amount of cold water with my breakfast before I head out. Usually I still end up dying, but I can only imagine how much worse it would be if I neglected this part.

2)Hydrate Post Run: I like Powerade Zero, but this part is very individual. I always go for something cold, and refreshing. I also try to put an ice pack on my head if it was brutal outside (last weekend’s long run). I just look for something with electrolytes, and maybe some calories if I won’t be able to get my hands on food for a while.

3)Cold Shower: Aside from taking care of yourself internally, I always find a cold shower, or an ice bath following a super hot run to be just what I need. It helps to get the sweat off of me, and bring my body temperature down, so I don’t feel like I’m dying.

Other than hydrating well, and trying to stay cool, I don’t really have many other precautions for when I run in the heat. What do you guys think? Do you have any important steps that you take when it’s oppressive out? Let us know in the comments below, and make sure to stay tuned for more!

 

-D

Leave a Reply

