Joining A Club: Roadkill Racing

After graduating, I spent two years running on my own. I had a lot of good races, some bad races, but something was missing.

I was never too into the idea of being reliant on a team. I (stupidly) felt that I could get by, and feel fulfilled doing it all on my own. I might be right, I might not, but I decided to pull the trigger and give it a shot anyway. A few weeks ago, I made it official, and joined Roadkill Racing.

Roadkill Racing is a team based out of Upstate NY. I had met a good deal of them at random races I had been to during my intermission, and liked the personalities, and laid back feel of the group. While there were a few groups to choose from in the area, I felt like my goals at the time could best be met by joining this crew.

What am I looking for? To run with people in a laid back environment, and compete for a team. I take my training very seriously, probably too seriously for being so low on the food chain (slow). Regardless, I put a lot of pressure on myself. I’m hoping that by joining a club, I can mitigate and disperse some of this focus. I’m hoping that by being a part of a team, I can stop putting so much pressure on myself, and think more of the team as a whole.

Does this logic sound skewed? It might be, but that’s what I’m working with.

I do have to say though, that I’m looking forward to some of the benefits associated with running with a team again.

  1. Uniforms: Let’s not get our priorities messed up here. You do it for the singlet! Jokes aside, it will be cool being able to don a uniform again. That rare opportunity to represent a group. not just yourself. It signifies you being a part of something bigger.
  2. Friends: You can’t buy friends. I bought a membership though, and that’s close enough. I’m hoping that by joining this team, I can form some bonds with people. I’m sort of a recluse, so this step was important for me. I wanted to make sure that the group I joined had like minded people with similar goals. Forming friendships is something I was definitely looking for, and joining a group is a good way to bolster that.
  3. Racing: I didn’t join just to hang out on long runs, I wanted to race. Another cool thing about joining a group is that they often have schedules of races that they look forward to every year. Roadkill Racing is a very prominent group on the Rochester running scene. They appear at an ungodly number of races all over the state. I thought this would be a good chance for me to experience some different kind of races, courses, distances, and events. Will I be good at all of them? Nah. Some of them? Still probably not. I will, however get to broaden my horizons, and hopefully be able to help them out scoring wise. Or even moral support.

Is joining a club for everyone?

No, probably not. I know for me, I really needed those two years to try and figure out what to do with my life. I thought about never running again at points. I thought about becoming a cyclist (mid life crisis). I needed that time to develop a little more as a runner, to a point where I wanted a change.

I got some solid PR’s in that time span, and I may still get more. But for the next few rounds, I want to do it with a team. People reading this may have no inclination to be a part of a team, and that’s cool. You run for your own reasons, to get what you want out of it. No harm, no foul.

I came to a point, though, where running different race distances wouldn’t be enough of a change for me. I needed a change on a more personal level, to reach out and connect with other like minded runners. This is where I ended up. On Roadkill Racing.

If you have any questions about this, please feel free to reach out to me. I’d be more than happy to talk more about this subject.

Thank you so much for reading, and stay tuned for more!

 

-Dave Herbert

Leave a Reply

